Today was a very informative day for me because I sat in on some offensive meetings and also talked to Coach Land of the duties involved with being an athletic director at the collegiate level.  
    During the offensive meetings, I was often lost when blocking schemes were talked about because I never had to worry about them when I played college football or coached at the high school level.  It was a great experience for me because I was able to learn something new which will help me become a better coach.  The more I know about the game, the more I can understand why certain things work and others will not.  
    The main thing I learned from Coach Land about being an athletic director is you sacrifice a lot of your time.  Whether it be meetings with school administrators or conference meetings with other schools.  Throughout the summer, Coach Land has had several meetings each week and his time to relax is minimal.  And, because he is not only the athletic director but the head coach of the football team, he has even less time to enjoy himself and his family.  It takes a great deal of sacrifice to hold both of these positions and it is very crucial to be detailed and well organized.



Leave a Reply.