I was asked today to go through our spring practices on Hudl, and find special teams drills to use for an instructional video.  I had to go through each practice session and create a playlist of any special team drill or rep.  Once I had all the drills saved to one playlist, I then had to decide which plays would be the best for the video.  Being able to work on a project like this helps expand my knowledge of the Hudl video system and allows me to work on some of the behind the scenes aspects of a football program. 
    In the afternoon, I started putting the correct size shoulder pads in the lockers for the incoming freshman.  Working with the assistant coach responsible for equipment this summer has opened my eyes into how much time is spent dealing with equipment.  It has also been another opportunity to see what goes in to being a successful football program.  By having all the equipment ready for the players when they show up August 10th, the team will be able to focus more on football and not have to spend wasted time dealing with the equipment.  
    I also met briefly with the assistant coach/ video coordinator to develop a plan for filming during camp.  It is very critical to streamline and minimize the time taken between practices to copy the film and use it as a teaching tool before the next practice.  I believe we have come up with a system that will make copying film easier for the   



Leave a Reply.