Today was pretty calm at the office due to the offensive coaches having meetings all day.  I was able to meet with Coach Land in between his meetings and discuss some goals of mine and asked him for his feedback and advise on how to obtain those goals.  He suggested I continue to be involved with the program and expose myself to as many aspects of the game as possible.  This includes talking to position coaches and learning from them, becoming involved with the recruiting process, and also learning about the finances and management of an entire football program.  
    I talked with the Recruiting Coordinator about possibly recruiting around where I live and he seemed very receptive about the idea.  This will allow me to get my feet wet in the recruiting process without requiring me to travel long distances.  Recruiting such a small area will be beneficial because I can find my own style of recruiting and talk to some coaches I am familiar with.  
    I did run into one small problem today that I am not sure how to handle.  I am sure the coaches are just giving me a hard time and joking around but one will ask me to do something and then another coach will ask me to do something.  If I say I already have something to do, they will respond with "What? I am not important enough for you?".  If I then say OK, I will get your task done, the coach will say "Now you're saying the other coach isn't important enough for you?".  At that point, I basically have to say you have to wait then and if they get mad, they get mad.  I just don't want to make a coach mad



Leave a Reply.