Most of my day was spent watching film and charting mistakes I saw during last years games.  The football team uses a service called Hudl to upload game film, practices, and other teams' game film.  This allows not only the coaches to watch film but also players.  Being able to navigate and edit film on Hudl will be very beneficial to me.  Since high school, I have always been a person that likes to watch film because, paired with insight from the coach, it is the most beneficial learning tool.  I also believe watching film determines how good of a coach you want to be.  Some coaches spend countless hours breaking down film and learning everything possible about the opposing team as well as correcting mistakes made by their own players.  Other coaches, who I believe don't want to be as successful or are not as dedicated, do not watch hours of film or do not correct the small mistakes they see.  In all aspects of life, the small things matter and if you don't fix those small mistakes they will add up to a larger problem.  Film also holds players accountable for their actions on the field because the film never lies.  What I mean by that is, during a game, a coach may not see something or a player may see or do something else that conflicts with what the coach saw.  By watching film, they can talk about the play and correct the problem so it doesn't happen again in the future.
My other responsibility for the day was to go through emails and watch highlights of prospective recruits.  I find this part of my mentorship to be very interesting as well because I am able to decide if a player has the tools to be successful in our program as well as our University.  Because Trine is a private university, academic standards are high and GPA or test scores are the first criteria that has to be met.  If their grades are good enough we then add them to our recruiting database so we can contact them throughout the season to gauge their interest.  Adding and deleting players from the database is by far the most boring thing I have done so far.  Each day I learn more about the behind the scenes work associated with coaching college sports, and each day it further solidifies my feelings of wanting to be a successful college coach.  



Leave a Reply.