The preparations for the beginning of camp continued today as we made sure every player had a locker and we had enough equipment for each player.  This year, our roster will start with 172 total players.  At the Division III level, numbers are always important because it increases total enrollment, which the administration always like to see.  I also printed off the defensive coaches manuals for this year and found out what my responsibilities will be during the season.  My job title will be assistant safeties coach and assistant to the defensive coordinator.  My primary duties will include diagnosing the opposing teams favorite route combinations and also assisting will game film breakdowns.  I was also asked if I wanted to help with recruiting, which I gladly agreed to.  Any experience I can obtain through this mentorship and throughout the season will help me in my endeavor to become a college football coach or work for a sports organization.  Whenever I am asked to take on added responsibility, I feel the coaches trust me and know I will give it my all to do the best job possible.  
    Before my mentorship started, the coaching staff knew I was interested in becoming a football coach but I don't think they realized how serious I am about it.  I believe I have shown a willingness to learn and do whatever is needed to ensure the success of the football team.  I feel all I need is an opportunity to demonstrate my knowledge of the game, along with my work ethic, and I can prove I am an asset to any organization.  
    The only difficulty I have experienced so far is being able to juggle work with school, my mentorship, and my home life.  So far, I have been able to do a satisfactory job but I think I could do a better job of managing my time and devoting it to either my ssch



Leave a Reply.