Today was a very busy day in the football offices.  I was greeted this morning with a list of about 75 players that need added to the recruiting database.  Coaches attend summer camps throughout the area and bring back a list of players they believe could play at the college level.  Apparently, the coaching staff had saved four of those lists for me and got me started on those right away this morning.  After working on the recruiting list for about an hour or so, the defensive coordinator called the defensive coaches into the staff room and wanted to go over the defensive run fits as well as coverages.  It is always beneficial to sit down with the different position coaches and learn about the responsibilities of other positions and what coaches think about certain defenses.  This meeting also turned out to be a pop quiz for me because the coordinator kept asking me questions about the coverages to see if I had been studying them.  Fortunately for me, I answered the questions correctly and showed the coaching staff I am dedicated to being a coach. 
After the meeting was over, I thought I was going to be able to get back to adding the recruits but I was wrong.  It was back to counting shoulder pads so we could figure out how many pads we need to order.  Once again, I would like to reiterate, it is very boring counting equipment and reorganizing it.  When we finally finished going through the pads for the fourth time, it was back to the computer and back to adding recruits.  I was able to get about half of them added today and will continue putting them in first thing in the morning.  Even though the system makes this part of recruiting easier, it is also very mundane and can get boring after a few ho



Leave a Reply.