Well, I thought I was done counting equipment for the summer.  Unfortunately, I was wrong.  I spent the first part of my day counting practice pants and separating them into piles according to size.  After I was done doing that, I had to separate and count both our navy and white game pants.  The most difficult part of the game pants was figuring out how to store them in the limited locker space we have.  When we finally figured out our locker situation, I had roll the pants back up and put them in their appropriate place.  Today, I counted over 600 pairs of football pants.  As I said in an earlier post, taking inventory of our equipment is probably the worst part of my mentorship so far. 
It wasn't until 2 pm when I finally got to sit down and actually work on a football activity.  I was able to sit down with the special teams coordinator and look over the responsibilities of each of our special teams units and make suggestions regarding schemes.  I really enjoy being able to sit down with a coach and discuss with him different schemes.  It allows me to take what I know and receive feedback from coaches who have been teaching the game for a long time.  I think one of the keys to becoming a successful coach is being able to take principles from another coach and adapt them into your own style.  After I was done reviewing special teams, it was back to watching film from last year  



Leave a Reply.